PM Najib Razak brings MCA and Gerakan into Cabinet


Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak has carried out a mini-reshuffle to bring in members of the Malaysian Chinese Association (MCA) and the Malaysian People’s Movement Party (Gerakan) into the Cabinet.

The MCA had originally declined to join the government following poor election results in the 2013 general election. In this reshuffle the MCA gets two full Cabinet ministers and three Deputy Ministers whilst Gerakan gets a full Cabinet Minister.

The new appointments and their posts as published on the Prime Minister’s website are as follows:

Seri Liow Tiong Lai Minister of Transport
Mah Siew Kiong Minister in the Prime Minister’s office (Gerakan)
Wee Ka Siong Minister in the Prime Minister’s office
Lee Chee Leong Deputy Minister of International Trade and Industry
Chua Tee Yong Deputy Minister of Finance
Datin Paduka Chew Mei Fun Deputy Minister of Women, Family and Community

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact