President Abdel Aziz changes key positions in reshuffle


President Mohamed Ould Abdel Aziz has made a number of changes to his senior ministers in a reshuffle which took place on Tuesday.

The list of the new ministerial posts as published on the Agence Mauritanienne d’Information website is as follows:

Sidi Ould Zein; Minister of justice

Ahmed Ould Tguedi; Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation

Mohamed Ould Mohamed Rare; Minister of the Interior and Decentralisation

Mohamed Ould Khouna; Minister of oil, Energy and Mines

Hamadi Ould Baba Ould Hamadi; Minister of Fisheries and Maritime Economy

Ahmed Salem Ould Bechir; Minister of Water and Sanitation

Ba Ousmane; Minister of Basic Education

Oumar Ould Maatalla; Minister of Secondary Education

Isselkou Ould Ahmed Izidbih; Minister of Higher Education and Scientific Research

Fatima Habib; Minister of Employment, Vocational Training and Communication Technologies

Amedy Camara; Minister of the Environment and Sustainable Development

Dia Moktar Malal; Secretary General of the Government.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact