President Adama Barrow presents ten new Ministers


President Adama Barrow has started to form his new government and yesterday ten ministers were sworn into office. They include people who had been imprisoned by former president, Yahya Jammeh. The new Foreign Minister, Ousainou Darboe, leader of the main opposition United Democratic Party (UDP), had been imprisoned for political reasons as had Omar Jallow, now Minister of Agriculture and leader of the opposition People’s Progressive Party (PPP) and Dr Isatou Touray the National Treasurer of the UDP who is now Minister of Trade. Amadou Sanneh, the new Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs had been serving a five year prison sentence for sedition until pardoned by the new president on Monday.

Ba Tambedou is expected to be appointed as Minister of Justice and Attorney General once he returns to The Gambia. A further seven ministers are expected to be appointed in the next few days.

The rest of the ministers sworn in yesterday are as follows:

Ousainou Darboe; Minister of Foreign Affairs
Hamat Bah; Minister of Tourism and Culture
Omar Jallow; Minister of Agriculture
Mai Ahmad Fatty; Minister of Interior
Henry Gomez; Minister of Youth and Sports
Lamin M. Dibba; Minister of Forestry and Climate Change
Dr. Isatou Touray; Minister of Trade
Amadou Sanneh; Minister of Finance and Economic Affairs
James Gomez; Minister of Fisheries, Water Resources and National Assembly Matters
Lamin N. Dibba; Minister of Lands and Regional Government

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact