President announces Cabinet


President Joyce Banda has announced her new Cabinet which consists of 23 ministers including herself. The President has decided to retain the portfolios covering the civil service, disaster management, nutrition and HIV/AIDS as well as the police and Malawi Defence Force.

The new president has chosen to take a route of conciliation, retaining members of the previous Cabinet who had been involved in expelling her from the former president’s Democratic Progressive Party (DPP). She has also rewarded members of her own newly formed People’s Party (PP) who left the DPP with her when she fell out with the former president.

The Malawian Daily Times Newspaper is reporting that ‘scores’ of DPP parliamentarians have asked to join the PP or have asked the speaker to become independents.

The new Cabinet is as follows:

Vice President Khumbo Kachili Minister of Health
Ken Lipenga Minister of Finance
Uladi Mussa Minister of Home Affairs
Ephraim Mganda Chiume Minister of Foreign Affairs
John Banda Minister of Trade
Atupele Muluzi Minister of Economic Planning and Development
Ralph Kasambala Minister of Justice and Attorney General
Ken Kandodo Minister of Defence
Moses Kunkuyu Minister of Information
Dr Kassim Chilumpha Minister of Energy and Mining
Eunice Kazembe Minister of Education
Peter Mwanza Minister of Agriculture
Sidik Mia Minister of Transport
Henry Phoya Minister of Lands
Rich Muheya Minister of Irrigation
Gotani Hara Minister of Environment and Climate Change
Eunice Makangala Minister of Labour
Reen Kachere Minister of Disability and the Elderly
Daniel Liwimbi Minister of Tourism
Grace Maseko Minister of Local Government
Anita Kalinda Minister of Gender
Enock Chakufuwa Chihana Minister of Youth and Sports
Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact