President appoints new PM and makes changes to Cabinet


President Ollanta Humala has named a new prime minister and made changes to his Cabinet following several months of unrest over mining projects in rural areas leading to a slump in his popularity. This will be the third prime minister and Cabinet changes made to President Humala’s government since he came into office a year ago.

Dr Juan Jiménez has been named as the new prime minister to replace Oscar Valdes. A further five changes were made in the Cabinet as reported on the President’s website. They are:

Midori Musme de Habich Rospigliosi; Minister of Health
Eda Adriana Rivas Franchini; Minister of Justice and Human Rights
Milton Von Hesse La Serna; Ministry of Agriculture
Peter Cateriano Bellido; Minister of Defence
Wilfredo Pedraza Sierra; Minister of the Interior

The following minister’s portfolios were reconfirmed:

Carolina Trivelli (Social Inclusion)
Gladys Triveño (Production)
Patricia Salas (Education)
Ana Jara (Women and Vulnerable Populations)
Rafael Roncagliolo (Foreign Affairs)
Luis Miguel Castilla (Economy and Finance)
José Villena (Labour and Employment Promotion)
José Luis Silva (Foreign Trade and Tourism)
Jorge Merino Tafur (Energy and Mines)
René Cornejo (Housing, Construction and Sanitation)
Manuel Pulgar Vidal (Environment)
Carlos Paredes (Transport and Communications)
Luis Peirano (Culture).

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact