President commits to limited reshuffle


Following the departure of junior coalition partner Democratic Party (DIKO) last week President Nicos Anastasiades has carried out a reshuffle of his Cabinet. Although four ministers resigned from DIKO and sought to stay in post, the president has replaced three and kept only one, Giorgos Lakkotrypis as Minister of Commerce and Energy.

The President also appointed Chrystalla Georghadji as the new Governor of the Central Bank of Cyprus.

The new ministers appointed are as follows:

Philippos Patsalis; Minister of Health

Costas Kadis; Minister of Education

Marios Demetriades; Minister of Communications and Works

Tasos Mitsopoulos; Minister of Defence

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact