President completes Cabinet reshuffle


President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono has completed his long awaited and much trailed Cabinet reshuffle, making changes in twelve of the 34 ministries. The announcements came piecemeal over the past few days.

The president laid out to his new Cabinet the following list of priorities, fighting corruption, preventing religious conflict, eradicating poverty, improving the performance of State Owned Enterprises (SOEs) and building food and energy resilience.

The reshuffle has been described as ‘disappointing’, ‘timid’ and a ‘cosmetic gesture’ by a number of analysts.

The full list of changes as reported in the Jakarta Globe is as follows:

Amir Syamsuddin Minister for Justice and Human Rights

Azwar Abubakar Minister for State Administrative Reform

Lt. Gen. Marciano Norman State Intelligence Agency (BIN) Chief

Gita Wirjawan Minister for Trade

Jero Wacik Minister for Energy and Mineral Resources

Mari Elka Pangestu Minister for Tourism and Creative Economics

Dahlan Iskan Minister for State Owned Enterprises

EE Mangindaan Minister for Transportation

Gusti Muhammad Hatta Minister of Research and Technology

Syarif Cicip Sutardjo Minister of Fisheries and Maritime Affairs

Djan Farids Minister for Housing

Berth Kambuaya Minister for the Environment.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact