President conducts reshuffle of Cabinet


President John Dramani Mahama has carried out a reshuffle of his Cabinet. The formal press release as published on the Presidential website is as follows:

“Full ministerial list out

President John Dramani Mahama has scrapped the Ministry of Information and nominated Ekwow Spio Garbrah to join his executive team as part of a realignment of his government.

Ekwow Spio-Garbrah, former CEO of the Commonwealth Telecommunications Organisation has been nominated as Minister for Trade and Industry. When approved by parliament, he will be taking over from Haruna Iddrisu (MP), who has been moved to the Ministry of Employment and Labour Relations.

The President has also appointed Dr. Benjamin Bewa-Nyog Kunbuor (MP) as his new Minister for Defence, replacing Mark Woyongo (MP) who has been reassigned to the Ministry of the Interior. Until his reassignment, Dr. Kumbuor was a Minister of State responsible for Government Business in Parliament.

Alhaji Inusah Fuseini (MP) moves from the Ministry of Lands and Natural Resources, and is the new Minister for Roads and Highways.

Under the new realigned government structure, the Ministry of Communications will now be responsible for the Information and Media Relations functions of government, as it was prior to the year 2001. All agencies under the former Ministry of Information & Media Relations will now operate under the Ministry of Communications.”

The full list of the new Cabinet as published on the Presidential website is as follows:

Hanna Serwaa Tetteh; Minister of Foreign Affairs & Regional Integration
Marietta Brew Appiah-Oppong; Attorney General and Minister of Justice
Benjamin Bewa-Nyog Kunbuor; Minister of Defence
Seth Emmanuel Terkper; Minister of Finance
Mark Owen Woyongo; Minister of Interior
Fifi Fiavi Franklin Kwetey; Minister of Food & Agriculture
Dr. Edward Omane Boamah; Minister of Communications
Professor Naana Opoku- Agyeman; Minister of Education
Haruna Iddrisu; Minister of Employment & Labour Relations
Mrs. Dzifa Attivor; Minister of Transport
Dr. Kweku Agyeman Mensah; Minister of Health
Nii Osah Mills; Minister of Lands & Natural Resources
Akwasi Oppong Fosu; Minister of Environment, Science, Technology & Innovation
Julius Debrah; Minister of Local Government & Rural Development
Alhaji Collins Dauda; Minister of Water Resources, Works & Housing
Mrs. Elizabeth Ofosu Agyare; Minister of Tourism, Culture & Creative Arts
Dr. Henry Seidu Daannaa; Minister of Chieftaincy & Traditional Affairs
Emmanuel Kofi Buah; Minister of Energy & Petroleum
Alhaji Inusah Fuseini; Minister of Roads & Highway
Mahama Ayariga; Minister of Youth & Sports
Mrs. Nana Oye Lithur; Minister of Gender, Children & Social Protection
Sherry Hanny Ayittey; Minister of Fisheries & Aquaculture
Ekwow Spio-Garbrah; Minister of Trade & Industry
Alhaji Rashid Pelpuo; Minister of State
Mrs. Comfort Ghansah; Minister of State
Dr. Mustapha Ahmed; Minister of State
Elvis Afriyie- Ankrah; Minister of State
Alhassan Azong; Minister of State

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact