President-elect Tabaré Vázquez appoints Cabinet


President-elect Tabaré Vázquez has announced the members of his new Cabinet just two days after being elected as the next President of Uruguay. The Central Bank Governor and heads of various national entities and have still to be announced.

The President-elect said that he had learned from his first term in office (2005 – 2010) and that he wanted to have his team in place for his full term. Vázquez and his Cabinet take office on 1st March 2015.

The full list of sixteen Ministers in the new Cabinet, some of whom are already the current Minister and compiled from a number of sources is as follows:

Danilo Astori Vice-President and Minister of Economy
Eduardo Bonomi Minister of Interior
Rodolfo Nin Novoa Minister of External Relations
Álvaro García Minister of Planning and Budget
Eleuterio Fernández Huidobro Minister of Defence
Marina Arismendi Minister of Social Development
Eneida de León Minister of Housing
Lilián Kechichián Minister of Tourism
Jorge Basso Minister of Health
Ernesto Murro Minister of Work
Carolina Cosse Minister of Industry
María Julia Muñoz Minister of Education and Culture
Tabaré Aguerre Minister of Livestock
Víctor Rossi Minister of Transport
Miguel Toma Secretary of the Presidency
Juan Andrés Roballo Sub-Secretary of Government

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com