President Ilham Aliyev appoints new Cabinet


President Ilham Aliyev has appointed his new Cabinet three days after his swearing-in for a third term in office. In the process of forming his new Cabinet the President has also created two new ministries, the Ministry of Economy and Industry and a new Ministry of Energy.

The full list of the 42 member Cabinet as published on the Azeri Press Agency (APA) website is as follows:

Yagub Abdulla Eyyubov First Deputy Prime Minister
Abid Goja Sharifov Deputy Prime Minister
Elchin Ilyas Afandiyev Deputy Prime Minister
Ali Javad Ahmadov Deputy Prime Minister
Ali Shamil Hasanov Deputy Prime Minister, the chairman of the State Committee for Deals of
Refugees and Internally Displaced Persons
Ismat Dursun Abbasov Deputy Prime Minister
Ramil Idris Usubov Minister of Internal Affairs
Huseyngulu Seyid Bagirov Minister of Ecology and Natural Resources
Natig Agaami Aliyev Minister of Energy
Fikret Farrukh Mammadov Minister of Justice
Salim Yanvar Muslumov Minister of Labor and Social Protection of the Population
Kamaladdin Fattah Heydarov Minister of Emergency Situations
Azad Arif Rahimov Minister of Youth and Sport
Elmar Maharram Mammadyarov Minister of Foreign Affairs
Shahin Abdulla Mustafayev Minister of Economy and Industry
Heydar Khanish Asadov Minister of Agriculture
Samir Rauf Sharifov Minister of Finance
Abulfaz Mursal Garayev Minister of Culture and Tourism
Eldar Ahmad Mahmudov Minister of National Security
Zakir Asger Hasanov Minister of Defense
Yaver Talib Jamalov Minister of Defense Industry
Ziya Arzuman Mammadov Minister of Transport
Ali Mammad Abbasov Minister of Communication and Information Technologies
Ogtay Kazim Shiraliyev Minister of Health
Mikayil Chingiz Jabbarov Minister of Education
Fazil Asad Mammadov Minister of Taxes
Hijran Kamran Huseynova Chairman of the State Committee for Family, Woman and Children Affairs
Nazim Huseyn Ibrahimov Chairman of the State Committee on Work with Diaspora
Elshad Huseyn Isgenderov Chairman of State Committee for Work with Religious Organizations
Aydin Ali Aliyev Chairman of the State Customs Committee
Arif Mikayil Valiyev Chairman of the State Statistical Committee
Abbas Abbas Alesgerov Chairman of the State Committee for City Building and Architecture
Garib Shamil Mammadov Chairman of the State Committee of Land and Cartography
Karam Avaz Hasanov Chairman of the State Committee for Property Issues
Rufat Jabrayil Aslanli Chairman of the State Committee for Securities
Ramiz Ayvaz Hasanov Chairman of the State Committee for Standardization, Metrology and Patent
Firudin Hilal Nabiyev Chief of the State Migration Service
Elchin Isaga Guliyev Chief of the State Border Service
Arzu Yusif Rahimov Chief of the State Service for Mobilization and Conscription
Gudrat Gambar Gurbanov Chief of the State Maritime Administration
Fuad Hidayat Guliyev Director of State Civil Aviation Administration
Atakhan Avaz Pashayev Chief of National Archive Department

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact