President Mahamadou Issoufou enlarges Cabinet to 37 Ministers


President Mahamadou Issoufou has carried out a comprehensive Cabinet reshuffle in which he has appointed members of the opposition and created a national unity government.

The president retained Prime Minister Brigi Rafini but dismissed ten ministers and increased his Cabinet from 26 to 37 ministers.

The full list of new Cabinet ministers as published in various local newspapers in French and translated by us is as follows:

Abouba Albade Minister of State for the Presidency of the Republic
Mohamed Bazoum Minister of State, Minister of Foreign Affairs, Cooperation, African Integration
and Nigeriens Abroad
Amadou Boubacar Cisse Minister of State, Minister of Planning
Abdou Labo Minister of State, Minister of Agriculture
Omar Hamidou Tchiana Minister of State, Minister of Mines and Industrial Development
Saidou Sidibe Minister Chief of Staff of the President of the Republic
Alma Oumarou Minister of Trade and Private Sector Promotion
Foumakoye Gado Minister of Energy and Petroleum
Habi Mahamadou Salissou Minister of Urban Development and Housing
Massoudou Hassoumi Minister of the Interior, Public Security, Decentralization and Customary
and Religious Affairs
Marou Amadou Minister of Justice, Attorney General, Spokeman of the Government
Wassalke Boukhari Minister of Water and Sanitation
Saley Saidou Minister of Transport
Karidjo Mahamadou Minister of Defence
Soumana Sanda Minister of Higher Education, Research and Innovation
Gilles Baillet Minister of Finance
Mrs. Maïkibi Kadidiatou Dandobi Minister of Population, Promotion of Women, the Child Protection
Ms. Ali Mariama Elhadji Ibrahim Minister of Primary Education, Literacy, promotion of national
languages, and Civic Education
Mahaman Elhadji Ousmane Minister of Livestock
Mano Aghali Minister of Public Health
Laouali Chaibou Minister of Public Service and Administrative Reform
Chaibou Dan Inna Minister of Vocational and Technical Lessons
Mrs. Bety Aichatou Habibou Oumani Minister of Secondary Education
Ada Chaïfou Minister of Environment, Safety and Sustainable Urban Development
Ibrahim Nomao Minister of Equipment
Abdou Mani Minister of Posts, Telecommunications and Digital Economy
Maman Sani Malam Maman Minister of Planning and Community Development
Abdoulkarim Dan Mallam Minister of Youth and Sports
Mrs. Hama Hadiza Oumarou Tchiani Minister of Tourism and Handicrafts
Salissou Ada Minister of Employment, Labour and Social Security
Ousmane Abdou Minister of Culture, Arts and Leisure
Yahouza Sadissou Minister of Communication and Institutional Relations
Rekiatou Christelle Jackou Minister Delegate to the Industrial Development
Mohamed Boucha Minister Delegate for the Budget
Noma Oumarou Minister Delegate for African Integration
Mohamed Sanoussi Elhadji Samro Deputy Minister for Decentralization and Customary and Religious Affairs

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact