President Mutharika shuffles his Cabinet


President Peter Mutharika of Malawi has carried out a reshuffle of his Cabinet.

The full list of the new Cabinet as published by the Presidency is as follows:

Prof. Arthur Peter Mutharika; President and Minister of Defence

Dr. Saulos Klaus Chilima; Vice President

Goodall Gondwe; Minister of Finance, Economic Planning and Development

Dr. George Chaponda; Minister of Agriculture, Irrigation and Water Development

Henry Mussa; Minister of Labour and Manpower Development

Patricia Kaliati; Minister of Information and Civic Education

Dr. Jean Kalilani; Minister of Gender, Children, Disability and Social Welfare

Kondwani Nankhumwa; Minister of Local Government and Rural Development

Atupele Muluzi; Minister of Lands, Housing and Urban Development

Francis Kasaila; Minister of Foreign Affairs and International Cooperation

Joseph Mwanamveka; Minister of Industry, Trade and Tourism

Bright Msaka; Minister of Natural Resources, Energy and Mining

Samuel Tembenu; Minister of Justice and Constitutional Affairs

Dr Emmanuel Fabiano; Minister of Education, Science and Technology

Jappie Mhango; Minister of Home Affairs and Internal Security

Grace Obama Chiumia; Minister of Sports and Culture

Dr Peter Kampalume; Minister of Health

Malison Ndau; Minister of Transport and Public Works

Vincent Ghambi; Deputy Minister of Education, Science and Technology

Agrey Masi; Deputy Minister of Defence

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact