President Nazarbayev reduces Ministries from seventeen to twelve


President Nursultan Nazarbayev has announced a new structure for his government. The new government will have 12 Ministries and around 30 committees down from the current 17 Ministries, 54 committees and 272 departments today. In the new structure five new Ministries will be added.

The changes as reported in Vestnik Kavkaza and Ak Zhaik along with other sources are as follows:

Yerbolat Dosayev; Minister for National Economy (formerly Economy and Budget Planning)

Aset Isekeshev; Minister for Investments and Development will be delegated authority of the ministries for industry and new technologies, transportation and communications, agency for communication and information, national space agency. The new ministry will also work on energy efficiency and geology.

Vladimir Shkolnik; Minister of Energy covering oil and gas, industry and new technologies, environment and water resources

Kalmukhanbet Kasymov; Minister of the Interior also covering the portfolio of the Ministry for Emergencies which will be closed

Bolat Zhamishev; Head of the Kazakh Development Bank

Tamara Duysenova; Minister of Healthcare and Social Development covering healthcare, labour and social protection

Arystanbek Muhamediuly; Minister of Culture and Sports covering sports and physical education as well as culture

Kayrat Kozhamzharov; Head of the State Agency for State Service and Corruption Control. It will cover the portfolio of the Financial Police, the agency for which has been dissolved.

The prime minister will have two deputies: Bakytzhan Sagintayev and new deputy Gulshara Abdykalikova specializing in human development.

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com