Prime Minister Alexander Stubb names new Ministers


Alexander Stubb has become the new Prime Minister of Finland after Jyrki Katainen retired from the post to take up an EU Commissioner’s post.

Stubb announced this morning a number of changes to the National Coalition Party (NCP – Kokoomus) portion of the five party Cabinet. The programme of the government remains largely unchanged and Parliament will vote on the new programme on Wednesday.

Jan Vapaavuori is the only NCP minister to retain his post, that of Minister of Economic Affairs. Henna Virkkunen, the Minister of Public Administration and Local Government, is leaving to become a Member of the European Parliament but we do not have the name of her replacement at present.

The NCP names announced today by Stubb who have changed roles or come in as new Ministers are as follows:

Paula Risikko Minister of Transport
Laura Räty Minister of Health and Social Services
Petteri Orpo Minister of Agriculture and Forestry
Lenita Toivakka Minister for European Affairs and Foreign Trade

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact