East Timor

Prime Minister proposes new Cabinet


President Taur Matan Ruak has accepted the nominations of Prime Minister designate Dr. Rui Maria de Araújo for his new government. Former Prime Minister, Xanana Gusmão has been named as the new Minister of Planning and Strategic Investment.

The government consists of 17 senior ministers and 21 junior ministers. All ministers will be sworn in on Monday 16th February 3 p.m., at Palácio de Lahane.

The full list of the government can be found here. The list of Cabinet ministers as published on the President’s website is as follows:

Rui Araújo Prime Minister
Agio Pereira Minister of State and of the Presidency of the Council of Ministers
Fernando LaSama de Araújo Minister of State, Coordinator of Social Affairs and Minister of Education
Estanislau da Silva Minister of State, Coordinator of Economic Affairs and Minister of
Agriculture and Fisheries
Dionísio Babo Soares Minister of State, Coordinator of Administrative Affairs and Minister of
Internal Affairs
Santina Cardoso Minister of Finance
Hernâni Coelho Minister of Foreign Affairs
Ivo Valente Minister of Justice
Maria do Céu Pina da Costa Minister of Health
Isabel Guterres Minister of Solidarity
António da Conceição Minister of Trade, Industry and Environment
Francisco Kalbuady Minister of Tourism, Arts and Culture
Gastão de Sousa Minister of Public Works, Transport and Communication
Alfredo Pires Minister of Petroleum
Cirilo Cristóvão Minister of Defence
Longuinhos Monteiro Minister of the Interior
Xanana Gusmão Minister of Planning and Strategic Investment

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com