United Kingdom

Prime Minister Theresa May starts forming her government


Following the European Referendum when the British people voted to leave the European Union (referred to as Brexit), Prime Minister David Cameron formally resigned yesterday and Queen Elizabeth II invited Theresa May to form a new government.

Mrs May, the former Home Secretary, started immediately with making her ministerial appointments and in particular appointed key ministers who had supported Brexit to positions where they could implement the decision of the people. To carry out Brexit the prime minister has established two new departments, the Department for Exiting the European Union and the Department for International Trade.

With more appointments expected today the following ministers were appointed last night:

Philip Hammond; Chancellor of the Exchequer

Boris Johnson; Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs

Amber Rudd; Secretary of State for the Home Department

Michael Fallon; Secretary of State for Defence

David Davis; Secretary of State for Exiting the European Union

Liam Fox; Secretary of State for International Trade

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com