Rasmussen names his Cabinet


Lars Løkke Rasmussen named his Cabinet on Sunday and announced that his centre-right Venstre Party would go it alone in forming the government. The centre-right Blue bloc won the general election on 18th June but it was always going to be difficult for Venstre to gather all the bloc parties into a coalition government.

Instead Rasmussen has decided that his party, which has 34 of the 179 seats in the Folketing, will govern alone and work to gain support from other parties on a policy by policy basis.

The full list of the new Cabinet as published on the Prime Minister’s website is as follows:

Lars Løkke Rasmussen Prime Minister
Claus Hjort Frederiksen Minister of Finance
Kristian Jensen Minister of Foreign Affairs
Bertel Haarder Minister of Culture and Church Affairs
Hans Christian Schmidt Minister of Transport and Construction
Eva Kjer Hansen Minister of Environment and Food
Troels Lund Poulsen Minister of Commerce and Growth
Inger Støjberg Minister if Immigration, Integration and Housing
Karen Ellemann Minister of Social Security and Internal Affairs
Søren Pind Minister of Justice
Lars Christian Lilleholt Minister of Energy, Supply and Climate
Ellen Trane Nørby Minister of Children, Education and Gender Equality
Sophie Løhde Minister of Health and the Elderly
Karsten Lauritzen Minister of Taxation
Esben Lunde Larsen Minister of Education and Research
Carl Holst Minister of Defence and Nordic Cooperation
Jørn Neergaard Larsen Minister of Employment

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact