Saeimā votes in new Cabinet


The Latvian Saeimā or parliament has voted in the new government of Prime Minister Laimdota Straujuma in a vote with 64 members for, 27 against and four abstentions.

Unity (V), Reform Party, All For Latvia-For Fatherland And Freedom/LNNK (VL-TB/LNNK), the Union of Greens and Farmers (ZZS) and six independents make up the new government.

The new government will be short lived because fresh elections are due to take place on 4th October this year. The new government came about after former Prime Minister Valdis Dombrovskis resigned after he took responsibility for the “Maxima” supermarket disaster when a roof collapsed killing 54 people last November.

The new Cabinet is made up of the following members:

Laimdota Straujuma Prime Minister
Ingrīda Circene Minister of Health
Ina Druviete Minister of Education and Science
Andris Vilks Minister of Finance
Anrijs Matīss Minister of Transport
Einārs Cilinskis Minister of Environmental Protection and Regional Development
Baiba Broka Minister of Justice
Dace Melbārde Minister of Culture
Jānis Dūklavs Minister of Agriculture
Uldis Augulis Minister of Welfare
Raimonds Vējonis Minister of Defence
Edgars Rinkēvičs Minister of Foreign Affairs
Rihards Kozlovskis Minister of Interior
Vjačeslavs Dombrovskis Minister of Economy

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact