Six Ministers sacked


President Jakaya Kikwete has sacked six of his ministers following a high level corruption investigation. The president has vowed that it won’t just be ministers who are held to account and senior officials are likely to be sacked in the days ahead as the probe by the Controller and Auditor General identifies those involved in the corruption cases.

The six ministers who have been relieved of their posts are:

Mustapha Mkulo, Minister of Finance
William Ngeleja, Minister of Energy and Minerals
Ezekiel Maige, Minister of Tourism
Omari Nundu, Minister of Transport
Haji Mponda, Minister of Health
Cyril Chami, Minister of Trade and Industry.

The President has started to appoint a number of new ministers including:

Dr William Mgimwa; Minister of Finance
Dr Abdallah Omar Kigoda; Minister for Trade and Industry
Prof Sospeter Muhongo; Minister of Energy and Minerals
Khamis Kagasheki; Minister of Tourism.

According to the Citizen newspaper the president has also appointed a number of deputy ministers as follows:

January Makamba; Communications, Science and Technology
Amos Makala; Information, Youth, Culture and Sports
Stephen Maselle; Minerals
George Simbachawene; Energy
Dr Seif Suleiman Rashid; Health and Social Welfare
Dr Charles Tizeba; Transport
Dr Binilith Mahenge; Water
Ms Angela Kairuki; Justice and Constitutional Affairs
Ms Janet Mbene; Finance
Ms Saada Mkuya Salum; Finance.

Tagged with:

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact enquiries@tradebridgeconsultants.com