Six MPP Ministers dismissed


Prime Minister Saikhanbileg Chimed of the Democratic Party (DP) has forced through a resolution in parliament dismissing all six ministers who come from the Mongolian People’s Party (MPP), ending the coalition government which had been in place since last December.

The Prime Minister has assigned the duties of the dismissed ministers to existing ministers.

A general election is due to be held by June next year and it is believed that the move was taken in order to create some distance between the two main parties. In the 2012 election the DP took 34 of the 76 seats in the State Great Hural and the MPP took 26 seats. There are two more parties and three independents who make up the parliament.

The ministers who have been dismissed (with the minister covering the portfolio in brackets) is as follows:

Ukhnaa Khurelsukh; Deputy Prime Minister (Minister of Justice)
Mrs. Dulamsuren Oyunkhorol; Minister of Environment Green Development and Tourism (Minister of Foreign Affairs)
Jargaltulga Erdenebat; Minister of Finance (Head of the Cabinet Secretariat)
Damdin Tsogtbaatar; Minister of Construction and Urban Development (Minister of Mining)
Namkhai Tumurkhuu; Minister of Road and Transport (Minister of Industry)
Sodnom Chinzorig; Minister of Labour (Minister of Population Development and Social Welfare)

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact