Stephen Harper brings in eight new ministers in reshuffle


Prime Minister Stephen Harper announced yesterday afternoon his long awaited Cabinet reshuffle. He welcomed eight new faces to the Cabinet which has grown by one to 38 ministers.

The full press release and list of the cabinet as published on the Prime Minister’s website is as follows:

“Prime Minister Stephen Harper today announced changes to the federal Ministry that will continue to focus on creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity in all regions of the country.

“Since our election in 2011 our Government has kept taxes low and put our finances on a sustainable path,” said the Prime Minister. “This fall, we will continue on with the work we have been doing on behalf of all Canadians.”

“These changes to the Ministry feature both younger Members of Parliament ready for new opportunities, and steady hands that will continue to deliver strong leadership in key portfolios. In particular, I am proud to welcome four new strong and capable women to the Cabinet table,” added the Prime Minister.

“In addition to the economy, our Government will continue to keep our streets and communities safe, celebrate our history, and promote Canada’s interests on the world stage. This new Ministry will work hard on behalf of all Canadians,” concluded Prime Minister Harper.

Stephen Joseph Harper Prime Minister
Bernard Valcourt Minister of Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development
Robert Douglas Nicholson Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada
Marjory LeBreton Leader of the Government in the Senate
Peter Gordon MacKay Minister of National Defence
Vic Toews Minister of Public Safety
Rona Ambrose Minister of Public Works and Government Services and Minister for Status of Women
Diane Finley Minister of Human Resources and Skills Development
John Baird Minister of Foreign Affairs
Tony Clement President of the Treasury Board and Minister for the
Federal Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario
James Michael Flaherty Minister of Finance
Peter Van Loan Leader of the Government in the House of Commons
Jason Kenney Minister of Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism
Gerry Ritz Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food and Minister for the Canadian Wheat Board
Christian Paradis Minister of Industry and Minister of State for Agriculture
James Moore Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages
Denis Lebel Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities, Minister of the
Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec and
Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs
Leona Aglukkaq Minister of Health, Minister of the Canadian Northern Economic Development Agency
and Minister for the Arctic Council
Keith Ashfield Minister of Fisheries and Oceans and Minister for the Atlantic Gateway
Peter Kent Minister of the Environment
Lisa Raitt Minister of Labour
Gail Shea Minister of National Revenue and Minister for the Atlantic
Canada Opportunities Agency
Julian Fantino Minister of International Cooperation
Steven Blaney Minister of Veterans Affairs and Minister for La Francophonie
Edward Fast Minister of International Trade and Minister for the Asia- Pacific Gateway
Joe Oliver Minister of Natural Resources
Kerry-Lynne D. Findlay Associate Minister of National Defence
Gordon O’Connor Minister of State and Chief Government Whip
Maxime Bernier Minister of State for Small Business and Tourism
Diane Ablonczy Minister of State of Foreign Affairs (Americas and Consular Affairs)
Lynne Yelich Minister of State for Western Economic Diversification
Steven John Fletcher Minister of State for Transport
Gary Goodyear Minister of State for Science and Technology (Federal Economic
Development Agency for Southern Ontario)
Ted Menzies Minister of State for Finance
Tim Uppal Minister of State for Democratic Reform
Alice Wong Minister of State for Seniors
Bal Gosal Minister of State for Sport

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact