Thorning-Schmidt forms new Cabinet


Following the departure of the Socialist People’s Party (SF) from the government of Prime Minister Helle Thorning-Schmidt a reshuffle has been carried out.

The new centre-left coalition Cabinet of the two parties is now firmly a minority government. An opinion poll by Voxmeter and carried in the Berlingske newspaper suggests that if an election were to be called today the left would do badly.

The poll gives the Socialist People’s Party (SF) who recently left the Cabinet just 5 seats compared with their current 16 seats. The Social Democrats would drop to 35 seats from the current 44 and the Social Liberal Party would drop one seat from 17 to 16 seats. The other party supporting the government, the Red-Green Alliance (Unity) would go up to 21 seats from 12 seats.

On the centre-right, the Liberals (Venstre) would win 51 seats compared with their current 47 seats. The right-wing Danish People’s Party would take 30 seats where they currently hold 22 seats. The Liberal Alliance and the Conservative People’s Party would remain on 9 seats and 8 seats respectively.

That means that if a general election were to be held today the left would win 77 seats and the right would take 98 seats in the 179 seat Folketing or parliament.

The full list of the new Cabinet is as follows, with reshuffled ministers or new ministers marked with an asterisk *. Social Democrat Party are marked (S) and Social Liberal Party are marked (R);

Helle Thorning-Schmidt (S) Prime Minister
Margrethe Vestager (R) Minister of Economy and Interior
*Martin Lidegaard (R) Minister of Foreign Affairs
*Mogens Jensen (S) Minister of Trade and Development
Bjarne Corydon (S) Minister of Finance
Karen Hækkerup (S) Minister of Justice
Nicolai Wammen (S) Minister of Defence
* Morten Østergaard (R) Minister of Taxation
*Sofie Carsten Nielsen (R) Minister of Research, Innovation and Higher Education
Mette Frederiksen (S) Minister of Employment
Henrik Sass Larsen (S) Minister of Business and Growth
Carsten Hansen (S) Minister of City, Housing, Rural Affairs and Nordic Cooperation
Christine Antorini (S) Minister of Education
*Manu Sareen (R) Minister of Integration, Equality and Children
Dan Jørgensen (S) Minister of Food, Agriculture and Fisheries
*Rasmus Helveg Petersen (R) Minister of Climate and Energy
*Magnus Heunicke (S) Minister of Transport
*Nick Hækkerup (S) Minister of Health and Prevention
*Kirsten Brosbøl (S) Minister of the Environment
*Marianne Jelved (R) Minister of Culture and Church

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact