Tony Abbott names his first Ministry


Incoming Prime Minister Tony Abbott has appointed an 18 member Cabinet which is expected to be sworn in as early as tomorrow. Abbott had been expected to adopt his shadow Cabinet for most posts but instead made a number of key changes, bringing in one or two junior members and overlooking several experienced shadow ministers.

The full list of Cabinet Ministers as published is as follows:

Tony Abbott Prime Minister
Warren Truss Deputy Prime Minister, Minister for Infrastructure and Regional Development
Julie Bishop Minister for Foreign Affairs
Eric Abetz Minister for Employment, Minister Assisting the Prime Minister on the Public Service
George Brandis QC Attorney-General, Minister for the Arts
Joe Hockey Treasurer
Barnaby Joyce Minister for Agriculture
Christopher Pyne Minister for Education (Leader of the House)
Nigel Scullion Minister for Indigenous Affairs
Ian Macfarlane Minister for Industry
Kevin Andrews Minister for Social Services
Malcolm Turnbull Minister for Communications
Peter Dutton Minister for Health, Minister for Sport
Bruce Billson Minister for Small Business
Andrew Robb AO Minister for Trade and Investment
David Johnston Minister for Defence
Greg Hunt Minister for the Environment
Scott Morrison Minister for Immigration and Border Protection
Mathias Cormann Minister for Finance

More detailed briefing on the politics and risk of doing business in this country is available to clients and subscribers. If you would like to know more then please contact